steppolew.blogg.se

System shock 2 - xerxes
System shock 2 - xerxes












system shock 2 - xerxes

I start overriding the computers and also upgrade my exotic skill so I can use the crystal shard. As far as I can tell toxin never wears off in this game without the use of an anti-toxin hypo so I take them down with a shotgun while contstantly backing off. They have a toxin attack which is extremely nasty. These are extremely tough and best taken down at a distance. I keep exploring and find another chip and also run into giant spiders. I find the first of the computers I need to override but can’t do anything with it yet as I need one of the other two chips. Provided I can get close up quickly they aren’t a big threat. I hide round the corner and the crates kill the cyborg off for me.Īside from the assassin cyborgs I’m also running into these guys who throw grenades at me. The room also has a load of exploding crates which keep crashing down. I don’t realise it at the time but this room has one of the red assassin cyborgs in it. To override Xerxes control I need to track down 3 red cyborgs which have a computer chip each which can override one system. I need some skill in exotics before I can use it. It’s another melee weapon but presumably more powerful than any of the usual ones. I find a new weapon which has been created by Shodan’s “children”. I have to get her access to more of the ships systems the Xerxes is currently controlling. Shodan has been masquerading as the dead woman in order to build my trust. She elaborates on the backstory and tells me how the “aliens” from the world below are actually her creations that were jettisoned off Citadel station in SS1. They have turned on her and she wants me to help her take revenge and kill them all off. I’ve been expecting a twist somewhere along the way and it wouldn’t have been a System Shock without Shodan in it. I’d go as far as to say this moment would potentially be one of the best in gaming if I hadn’t already guessed it was coming. This scene is incredibly atmospheric and I’m surrounded by her creepy multiple voices. The walls slide away and I’m suddenly face to face with Shodan. There’s only one place to go on Level 4 for now and that leads me straight to the dead body of the woman who has been helping me out over email.














System shock 2 - xerxes